top of page

Behind The Life & Music: Cody Hibbard


Cody Hibbard
Cody Hibbard, singer of "Half Whiskey, Half Lonely"

Today we would like to introduce you to Cody Hibbard


We stumbled upon Cody Hibbard recently and his debut single "Half Whiskey, Half Lonely" and we were blown away. We asked ourselves, "Who is this guy". We knew he would be perfect for the next installation to out Behind The Life & Music series. He's one of those guys where you hear a song and you want to hear more. Especially since he only has one song released to date. We wanted to find out more about him, and luckily for us, he agreed to interview and he won't just have one song out for long as Cody has his debut album “Memory and A Dirt Road” coming out January 17th, 2020 on all platforms. Cody Hibbard's band members are Trever Callaway the lead guitarist, Nick Turner on the drums, and Logan Mehringer as the bass guitarist.


Background

“I grew up out on a 360 acre in Adair, OK. After high school, I was accepted into the United States Naval Academy. After dealing with some shoulder injuries, I ended up at Northeastern State University in Tahlequah, OK until a friend asked if he wanted to go pipeline over the summer. Once I got out there, I knew that’s what I wanted to do. I worked as a laborer, helper, and then welder over the 6 years all over the United States. I took a job in Conroe, TX and started doing music as a hobby on the weekends. Eventually, I was recognized by a few people and they told me I should take some of my originals to the studio. I recorded my single “Half Whiskey, Half Lonely” and here we are today.”

Who are you inspired by?

“I’m inspired by a lot of different people. That’s the best thing about the genre, is that everyone has a different background and come from all different walks of life and it all translates into their music. I find inspiration in anything from picking apart lyrics and melodies to watching live shows and seeing how crowds react to different artists”

When did you first start playing music?

“I started on piano when I was 4. My grandad got me my first guitar around 7 or 8. I was already practicing piano, and playing sports so I wasn’t too interested in picking up something else I had to work on. I was in band from middle school all the way to senior year. I really started picking the guitar up once I got to the Naval Academy after high school.”

What is the biggest problem you have had to overcome?

“The biggest problem I’ve had to overcome would definitely be telling myself I can put out music people will connect with and enjoy. I’ve had to find my voice, as you could say, that defines me.”

Are there any hidden meanings behind your music?

“I never think there are any hidden meanings in my songs. I try to be straight forward with what I’m writing about. I do have people come tell me what their take is on a song and it makes sense to me, so I guess that could be technically a hidden meaning.”

If you could change anything about the industry what would it be?

“I don’t think I could change anything about the industry especially down here in Texas. I guess the only thing I would really change is getting more Red Dirt/Texas Country artists out on radio stations outside of the areas where it’s popular.”

What is one venue you dream of playing?

“The one venue I’d love to get to play one day would either be Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa or Gruene Hall in New Braunfels. Cain’s Ballroom was the place where we went to for concerts growing up so it would be surreal to play there. Then Gruene Hall just has so much tradition with so many big names, it would be an honor to play there.”

What do you do for fun in your free time?

“The only thing I seemed to find time to do for fun anymore is hunt and fish. I try to put family first and then work so there usually isn’t much time for fun afterward. Pretty lame, I know.”

Are you working on any new music?

“Yes, I am. I just finished the first album titled “Memory and A Dirt Road” with producer Philip Mosley, which will be available on January 17, 2020. Pretty excited about this project!”

Listen To Cody Hibbard

















Don't have Spotify? Click HERE to listen on any platform

Memory and A Dirt Road


"Memory and A Dirt Road" will be released on January 17th, 2020 on any platform you listen to music. Mark that date on your calendar because we have heard some sneak peeks and it is going to be on repeat.

Sneak Peek of "Just For The Record" off of his upcoming album.



Follow Cody On Social Media

Click Below

Comments


Recent Posts

264234652_388704316254670_4240627631277363063_n_edited.jpg
bottom of page