top of page

Behind The Life & Music: Payton Howie


Background

Payton Howie is an award-winning country music singer/songwriter from Southern California who just released her debut single, “Catch Flights” in the summer of 2019. She plays guitar and keys and has been singing since she could talk. Her traditional musical influences are Johnny Cash, Reba McEntire & George Strait, and she gravitates towards the vocal styles of Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood & Gretchen Wilson. Payton is involved with the West Coast Country Music Association, where she has been awarded New Country Female Entertainer of the Year and Traditional Country Female Entertainer of the Year. She has had the honor to open for National Act, Honey County, and has been invited to perform for organizations that represent the US military and first responders. Payton just released her second single called “F150” in January.


Interview

Who are your band members (If any) and what do they play?

I am a solo artist and I am a vocalist who plays guitar and keys.


Who are you inspired by?

My biggest influences are Carrie Underwood, Reba, Gretchen Wilson, & Johnny Cash.


What is your musical history? (When did you first start playing music)

I have been singing since I could talk and I began learning to play guitar around the age of 16 when I got my first guitar! 



What's the biggest problem you have had to overcome? 

The biggest problem I have had to overcome in music has definitely been vulnerability. Considering music is a huge part of my life, I have had to learn how to open up about personal subjects and raw feelings in order to write and play each song with the passion it deserves. People who truly love and appreciate the art of music want to connect with something that is real and it is my job as an artist to relate and show my love for others through the passion and authenticity in my music. That being said, I have had to learn to be more open with my emotions in my songwriting as well as sharing music in a live setting. I truly have felt the amazing impact of connecting with people through music and I am beyond grateful for the opportunities I have had to learn to be vulnerable.


Are there hidden meanings to your music?

The meanings behind my music are not necessarily hidden but authentic because my greatest desire is to relate to people and make them feel something through my music!


If you could change anything about the industry what would it be?

The only thing I would ever want to change about the industry would have to be overall acceptance. Although I have my musical preferences as most people do, I always make an effort to accept and appreciate all kinds of music. I hope that someday listeners and artists across all genres would be able to find the beauty in any kind of music!


What is one venue you dream of playing?

A venue I have always dreamed of playing in is Madison Square Garden!


What do you do for fun?

When it comes to free time, I love to workout and spend time with my friends and family!


Are you working on any new music?

Yes! I am writing tons of new music as well as recording new singles that I am beyond excited to release!


Listen To Her Music!

Latest Release: "F-150"

Listen HERE

Comments


Recent Posts

264234652_388704316254670_4240627631277363063_n_edited.jpg
bottom of page