top of page

Derek Chennault & The Native Guns



Interview with DC & The Native Guns:


Tell us a little bit about you guys!

We are a North East Texas Band with some Far west Texas Roots. I met Dean Lopez in College at Texas Tech I played music while he Practiced Team Roping under the Arena Lights. Trever Bestul is my Best Friend I grew up with him. Orrin in another Paris Texas fellow who met at local open jams and stuff.

Who are your band members and what do they play?

Derek Chennault is on lead vocals and rhythm guitar, Dean Lopez on the guitar, then we have Orrin Vandenburg, and Trever Bestul.

What artists are you inspired by?

Grady Spencer, Eric Willis, and Robert Earl Keen


When did your first start playing music?

Started strumming a guitar around 12 years ago. Playing some good songs for friends and family. I thought I’d try to write some of my own music and did it.

What's the biggest problem you have had to overcome?

I’d say the biggest problem is getting to get to play gigs right now during this hard time. Most of the music I write is about a woman or experiences we dude have had with them. I hope to get people to listen by being able to relate. I also like to play some party songs about hanging out drinking with your buds.

If you could change anything about the industry what would it be?

I think the industry is great I wouldn’t want to be on any other scene! I just think that some agency’s need to help out the up and comers a little bit and help keep the Texas Music, Texan.


What is one venue you dream of playing?

The Bluelight by far, and we got to do so a couple of weeks ago and it was great! We will be back in February! We would be ready to play at Siver Saloon if Alex will get us there soon!

Are you working on any new music?

We are recording an E.P come January with Rock Soup & Jarred Flusche in Saint Jo, Tx. I think once we get that out it should take off, or we are hope we have got some song on there that I feel people will relate to!
 

Stream Derek Chennault & The Native Guns!



Comments


Recent Posts

264234652_388704316254670_4240627631277363063_n_edited.jpg
bottom of page