top of page
Writer's pictureJaime Alicen

J.Antonette: Behind The Life & Music



Get ready to meet J.Antonette, country music's Controversial Girl Next Door! J. Antonette is a singer/ songwriter from Nashville with a love for unique lyrics. If you love badass, talented, artists check this one out!


Behind The Life & Music With J. Antonette

Online Interview


Background

Country singersongwriter J.Antonette received her start as a background singer for Melissa 

Etheridge and has since backed up Grammy Award winner Michael Bolton among others.  As an 

artist, J.Antonette  has opened for country acts such as Jordan Davis and Tucker 

Beathard. She continues to achieve success as a multi-genre songwriter by placing music in 

popular TV shows as well as writing for other artists. This Nashville transplant has been featured onradio stations throughout the country.  Her first single, “Hello, Goodbye,” exclusively premiered 

on BUG Country Radio 99.7 & 101.1 and has been featured on stations such as Nash FM, 

BIG FROG 104, W UTQ, and KISS-FM. Her 2019 single, “Something I Said” is a finalist 

in the prestigious John Lennon Songwriting Competition in the country genre. " Something I Said" is available on all streaming and downloading platforms. "Drunk On Me," 

J's latest single premiered on MIX 102.5 on 1/3 1/20! Find it on all streaming & downloading 

platforms!


Who are your band members (If any) and what do they play?

Solo


Who are you inspired by?

I'm inspired by so many people and things. Often times I'm inspired by emotions and my own 

experiences. I try to spend time away and in nature to have time to reflect. Artist who inspire  me the most are  Alison Krauss, Je Buckley, Bread, Karen Carpenter, Dixie Chicks, Fleetwood Mac,The Dixie Chicks, Sheryl Crow, Jo Dee Messina .


What is your musical history? (When did you first start playing music)

As a young girl, I was always writing. When I was about four years old, I would sit behind the 

bushes in front of my house wit h a little notepad and write little songs. There was always 

musi c playing in my home. My parents loved music! As I grew up I started singing more and 

more, but believe it or not I struggled  with stagefright. 


What's the biggest problem you have had to overcome?  I've suffered from Anxiety my entire life. I've overcome many traumatic obstacles, but I wouldn't 

take any of them back because they really made me who I am today. I've learned so many 

lessons that have made me a better person. 


If you could change anything about the industry what would it be? Many women feel this way in country music right now, but I would love to see more women in 

main stream country radio. I would love for us to get the attention we deserve. 


What do you do for fun?

For fun I enjoy outside activities. I love hiking, kayaking, fishing, and just being outside in nature! 

I love being around good friends and laughing! 


Are you working on any new music?

I'm currently writing all new music that I will be releasing later this year. 


Make sure to check out J. Antonette's new single now!






Comments


Recent Posts

264234652_388704316254670_4240627631277363063_n_edited.jpg
bottom of page