top of page

Single Spotlight: Hayley Giovinazzo 'Lipstick On Your Car'


Interview with Hayley Giovinazzo


Tell me a little bit about you Hayley

I'm a 20-year-old singer/songwriter, from Massachusetts. I've been writing music since I was about 11 years old and playing guitar since around the same time. I'm currently a junior in college in Milwaukee, Wisconsin getting my business degree while pursuing music.

What's the backstory of Lipstick On Your Car?

I'm not sure I should admit this haha but the song is actually a true story. One of my friends was cheated on, and so me, her, and a couple of our other friends decided to go to the guys car and write on it in lipstick. Unfortunately I think a lot of people can relate to the situation, but writing it I was hoping to give people who have been in the same situation some kind of release. Sometimes the only closure you need is calling someone out for what they did wrong.

Where did you write the song?

I wrote it while I was home from college for the summer in Massachusetts! I didn't really plan on writing a revenge style song, but when I sat down to write the memory came to mind, and I thought it was too good of a story to not make into a song.

Hayley Giovinazzo Music

What's your favorite lyric from the song?

I think my favorite lyric is "do you recognize this from the color of my kiss", I think it paints a clear image of what's happening. It's about getting back at the guy using something that had good memories tied to it, the lipstick. He wrecked a good relationship by cheating, so he's called out with a kiss goodbye.

What else would you like to add about the song?

While it's a revenge style song, it's also a song about letting go of someone who may have shown some red flags from the beginning. It's the second song I've released, so I hope people enjoy it!

Are you working on any new music?

I am! I have two more releases coming in the next few months, but I am also writing a TON of music that I am already super excited for.


 
 

Follow Hayley Giovinazzo on other platforms

Bình luận


Recent Posts

264234652_388704316254670_4240627631277363063_n_edited.jpg
bottom of page